Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

REVIEW + PHOTOS: Roger Waters at Amway Center (Orlando)

by • August 26, 2022

The one and only Roger Waters of Pink Floyd makes his triumphant return to Orlando! The hair on my arms stands up as I get closer to the beginning of this politically and musically charged show. I can feel the electricity in the room as fans get their first chance at Roger Waters in 3 years.

Roger Waters Live Review 2022

Roger Waters Live Review 2022

The square stage is in the middle of Amway Center with a runway extending from each side. A giant cross-shaped screen the length and width of a basketball court sits on the stage as the lights go down. Thunder rolls over the speakers and I can feel the bass in my chest. On screen the rain pours down upon a broken city. Dark silhouettes fill the city streets as the war torn buildings fall part overhead. Roger Waters and company have me fully immersed in the music from the first note. I am “Comfortably Numb.”

All of the focus is on these giant screens as they show jarring images of tough topics. The band is wearing all black as they traverse through Pink Floyd’s catalog. They nail the second and third sections of “Another Brick in the Wall” before showing police brutality videos during “The Powers that Be.”

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

They finally take a break to address the crowd and Waters offers the idea of “The Bar” where people can come and exchange ideas without fear of retribution or judgement. He raises his drink to the crowd before getting into the meat of the set: “Have a Cigar,” “Wish You Were Here,” and “Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6-9)”. A giant sheep floats above the crowd for the final song of the set, “Sheep.”

During the short set break a pig floats above the crowd with phrases like “F*ck the Poor” written on the side. The pig’s eyes glow red as the lights go down.

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

The 78-year old British musician has great stage presence and his singing hasn’t lost a step. He comes out stylin in the second set, now donning a leather jacket and aviator sunglasses for “In the Flesh.” “Run Like Hell” Waters is followed around on stage by full uniformed storm trooper police and the sound of gunfire could be heard as the lights dropped to black at the end of the song. Political messages scroll across the screen during Waters’ slow and accoustic “Deja Vu:”

F*ck the Supreme Court,
F*ck Your Guns – They’re Killing Our Children.

Video plays that condemn every President on both sides as war criminals. Posting the statistics of the lives they are responsible for ending including Biden who is “just getting started.”

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Fans around me stand up as the band begins to play “Money.” Here saxophonist Seamus Blake holds the attention of thousands of people with his spotlight solo. His breath, style, and poise fit the moment perfectly. Then, Jonathan Wilson takes the spotlight and uses hot irons and brands my brain with his searing hot guitar solo. The screens lower down just a bit and high intensity lasers form triangles the length of the arena with the stage and screens inside of the prism. Rainbow colors flood the screen as they hit the crowd with “Brain Damage” and “Eclipse!”

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Roger Water ⭐ August 25, 2022 ⭐ Amway Center — Orlando, FL ⭐ Photos by Jacob Hayes III — instagram.com/jhayes822

Encore starts with a Pink Floyd song from the last release The Final Cut, “Two Suns in the Sunset.” They reprise “The Bar” before helping Florida music fans “Outside the Wall.” Whew what a show! The production is amazing! The floats, the lasers, the huge screen and amazing sound! I highly recommend seeing this amazing experience live!

SET 1 8:30-9:25

Comfortably Numb
The Happiest Days of Our Lives
Another Brick in the Wall, Pt.2
Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 3
The Powers That Be
The Bravery of Being Out of Range
The Bar
Have a Cigar
Wish You Were Here
Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Pts. 6-9)
Sheep

SET 2 9:45-11:00

In the Flesh
Run Like Hell
Deja Vu
Is This the Life We Really Want
Money
Us & Them
Any Colour You Like
Brain Damage
Eclipse

ENCORE 11-11:15
Two Suns in the Sunset
The Bar (reprise)
Outside the Wall

ROGER WATERS PHOTO GALLERY

Roger Waters Live Review 2022 by Spencer Storch.
Roger Waters Live Photos 2022 by Jacob Hayes.


Rep your favorite music mag with new SIGT Koozies while supplies last! Support SIGT by bringing your new koozie to a show! GET THEM HERE!

SIGT Koozies

SIGT Koozies Re-Stocked!


Please support our friends who support us! Tell them Shows I Go To sends love! 🙂

Recommended Posts