REVIEW + PHOTOS: JamBurg 22 w/ Spafford, Perpetual Groove, Eggy, & Daniel Heitz Band

by • November 25, 2022

“Let’s face it, we’re in Floyd’s house!” Spafford says before thanking the promoter, Joshua Floyd for a wonderful, professional evening. Floyd is doing something really special. He’s bringing peace to the community through the inaugural JamBurg, and for a good cause — to benefit Leesburg Center For The Arts. It’s like a slice of Suwannee in a boutique-style venue. There’s like, 1,000 tickets. It’s uniquely intimate and, if you can feel it, truly magical. The food options were awesome, too. The historic Pat Thomas Stadium in beautiful Leesburg, FL is the setting for an evening of fun, friends, and great live music! Since 1937 it’s been the home to the Leesburg Lightning baseball team. This cozy baseball complex salutes four high-flying bands on a breezy Saturday night — Daniel Heitz Band, Eggy, Perpetual Groove, and Spafford for JamBurg ‘22!

JamBurg Tickets Leesburg 2022 Spafford Tickets

I get to enjoy hoodie weather and some of the tastiest jams walking into the stadium for the beginning of Daniel Heitz Band’s rockin’ set. It’s not long before Orlando’s own Heitzhausen (Steeln’ Peaches) leans into the wind with a sonic spangled solo. They take things over the edge while chasing their guitarist’s lean. “Sunny Day” is next off of their latest album and it’s here that the very colorful bassist, Glenn “Jammin” Kastrinos, has his chance to stretch his legs. His rainbow-colored jacket arches to his bass strings. I think fans have found a pot of gold at this amazing rock set. He and Aaron “Bucky” Buckingham (drums) are so impressive they have the crowd movin’ and shakin’ until the end.

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Daniel Heitz Band ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Connecticut caviar, Eggy, brings their own brand of jams from the Northeast. This up-and-coming jamband overcomes a late start (due to sound check right), an unexpected cord yank, and a dad joke that delay the show just a moment longer.  Things get going with “Wayless” > “Shadow.”  Here, they show off their enticing balance and impeccable harmonizing. I couldn’t be more impressed with my first Eggy experience as they flow from rolling jams to the back to the structure of the song. Keyboardist Dani Battat (who’s sporting a baseball helmet!) leads the way as I lose myself in the midst of the candied jams with marshmallows on top! It’s only a few days until Thanksgiving and I can already taste the food. Bassist Mike Goodman’s skills are wafting through the air as he pulls his basted turkey out of the oven. Licks like Vulfpeck’s Joe Dart, Goodman injects the crowd with some serious flavor. They finish out their four song set with “Portable Air Scrubber” and have JamBurg ‘22 hungry for more!

Eggy ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Eggy ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Eggy ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Perpetual Groove takes the stage and brings their Southern rock infused, loop-laden jams to JamBurg ‘22! Brock Butler (guitar) brings the heat to this breezy, chili evening. They stoke the party with a fiery “Three Weeks,” where Butler drills on the guitar, searching for the hottest licks. They sparkle and shine through “Robot” and “SpaceParanoids” on their way to covering “Pepper” by the Butthole Surfers. P-Groove finishes strong by flowing into “Dog” on their way to a standing ovation.

Perpetual Groove ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Perpetual Groove ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Perpetual Groove ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

The lights come alive as Spafford kicks things into high gear. Brian Moss (guitar) takes us on an adventure as they bedazzle Pat Thomas Stadium. It’s time to decorate as they adorn this lakeside venue with the best they have to offer. They start into “Double Time” and suddenly I’m on a speed boat with the band out on gorgeous Lake Harris. We weave through the waves, slaloming back and forth in the moonlight. Moss surfs the wake with his guitar behind us, popping tricks and stunts in the forever-curling wave. 

They take a dive into the deep end of the pool with a cover of The Allman Brothers’ “Whipping Post.” Their performance is a slight departure from the standard song, but Moss once again is impressive by making the well known solos his own. They launch into “America” where red, white, and blue lights shine into the woods behind the stage making for an awesome view while the band jams out. At encore they return for a stunning rendition of “Beautiful Day” > “The Reprise!” The fans around me are showing off their best dance moves as Moss takes us through the paces of their most popular song. Whew!

Spafford ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Spafford ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Spafford ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

Spafford ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

What an amazing night of music! We rocked out with Daniel Heitz Band, cracked yolks with Eggy, looped with Perpetual Groove, and went on a musical odyssey with Spafford. Super happy to have caught the last show of their six week Fall tour that was one of the last shows for keys player Andrew “Red” Johnson who will leave the band after NYE to spend more time with his family. (A replacement has been named, Cory Schechtman, who filled-in for a four shows earlier this year.) I simply can’t wait for JamBurg ‘23!

Spafford – JamBurg ’22 ⭐ November 19, 2022 ⭐ Pat Thomas Stadium — Leesburg, FL ⭐ Photos by Matthew Wright — instagram.com/the.flyin.fotog

“First off let me say what an amazing tour this has been! The music has been on point, the crew has been TOP NOTCH, and the fans… UNREAL as always! Thank you all so much! Another reason this tour has been so incredibly special to me is that after many conversations with my family, very close friends, and my brothers in Spafford, I made the decision that this would be my last tour. The past 11 years with Spafford have been a dream come true and I wouldn’t trade a single second. But more and more my desire to spend time with my wife and family has started to outweigh the demands and dedication of full time touring. Being a member of Spafford has been the honor of my life. Making music with my best friends – my brothers, has been such a humbling experience and a privilege I will never take for granted. Although my journey with the band has come to an end, the Spafford story is far from over. New Year’s Eve is a very special night for Spafford as it’s the band’s birthday. Back in late 2011, I was asked to play a handful of shows with the band to finish out the year. That New Year’s Eve, I became a full time member of Spafford. New Year’s shows have always been very special to me, so it seems only fitting that my last show should be on New Year’s Eve. I hope to see ALL of you at The Marquee Theater 12/30 and 12/31 to celebrate with us!”

Red

JAMBURG 22 PHOTO GALLERY

JamBurg ’22 Live Review by Spencer Storch.
JamBurg ’22 Live Photos by Matthew Wright.
JamBurg ’22 Live Videos by The Sober Goat.


WHIPPERSNAP MUSIC FESTIVAL

SECURE TICKETS HERE!

Whippersnap Music Festival 2024 Flyer


Thanks to our Sponsors, Kingfish Records in Clearwater, FL!

Kingfish Records Ad

Check out our South Florida SIGT Website! 

Shows I Go To South Florida Giveaway, Reviews, Photos, and more


Please support our friends who support us! Tell them Shows I Go To sends love! 🙂

Recommended Posts