Slightly Stoopid Live Review

LIVE REVIEW + PHOTOS + VIDEO: Slightly Stoopid “Sounds of Summer Tour 2017” w/ Iration, J Boog, & The Movement | Riverfront Park, Cocoa, FL | June 25, 2017

by • July 21, 2017

Big summer reggae show #1 was Dirty Heads + SOJA + The Green + RDGLDGRN. Big reggae summer show #2 featured my favorite funky reggae jam band, Slightlyyy Stoooopid

Stoopid’s “Sounds of Summer 2017” tour featured special guests IrationJ Boog, and The Movement. The two month cross-country outing made stops at three Florida cities: 6/22 in Saint Augustine, 6/24 in Boca Raton, and 6/25 in CocoaLast year’s summer tour was a blast! This tour is still on the move, so go check out what summer sounds like in a city near you!

Slightly Stoopid, Sounds of Summer Tour 2017, Iration, J Boog, The Movement

I was able to hit up the Cocoa show at Riverfront Park on a beautiful Sunday Funday, June 25th. SIGT also had coverage of the St. Augustine show just a few days before which you can check out HERE.

I leave Orlando super early for this show as I didn’t want to miss a minute. I arrive in Cocoa so early, around 2pm, that I have plenty time to stop into Pub Americana right next to the park and get some pizza, a burger, and a few cocktails in me. I highly recommenced this place if you’re ever in the area.

After killing enough time, I make my way to the park and over to the will call table to get my tickets and photo pass. However, Iration had not turned in their guest list yet. That’s fine, nothing I can do about that. So I sit and wait, and wait. While I’m waiting, I see Gary Jackson, aka Gary Dread, drummer for The Movement, who is an Orlando resident that I run into randomly all the time in Otown. I say what’s up and tell him my current fiasco situation, and he says “Hope to see ya in there soon brother!”

Finally, around 4:00pm when gates open, I get my tickets but there is some confusion about my photo pass and the main gal in charge at the table wasn’t being very helpful, so I wait some more and try to figure the situation out. I eventually talk to the tour manager and get my photo pass. After the shit show at the will call table, I make my way into the venue, at 4:45pm. Unfortunately, the show had already started and The Movement was already on stage. Awesome… so much for arriving early.

Slightly Stoopid, Iration, J Boog, The Movmenet, River Front Park, Cocoa, Florida, 2017

I make my way inside and head straight for the photo pit so I can get a few good photos of The Movement. I’m in there for about one minute before they kick all the photographers out after the typical first three songs (laaame). I wander around getting a beer and taking some photos from the crowd for a few songs. I love their alternative reggae sound, its not really roots reggae or rasta but has more of a hip-hop rock vibe. Along with Gary’s pumped up beats, Joshua Swain (Guitar, Vocals) has a good lyrical flow with relatable lyrics, while Jason “Smiles” Schmidt (Bass) keeps the butts shakin’ & the heads noddin’, and Ross Bogan (Keys) lays down the dankest of melodies.

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

The Movement | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

I migrate to the back near the sound/light tent where I will set up base camp for the night. I get my tripod & camera set up and record the last song of The Movement’s set, “Fair Warning” from their sixth studio album Golden released in April 2016. Check out the video below as well as my Instagram clip.

Hey @themovementvibe at Riverfront Park, Cocoa FL @garydreadmusic @showsigoto #showsigoto

A post shared by Richie Williams (@thesobergoat) on

It’s another typical hot summer day in Central Florida and the crowds are claiming all the good shade spots, but at least there is a nice on-and-off breeze bouncing from the Indian River. J Boog takes the stage next. If you’ve never seen them perform, they end up being the best band you didn’t know you loved. J Boog is the stage name of Samoan American singer Jerry Afemata, who was born in Long Beach, California but primarily raised in Compton. He released a self-titled EP in 2011 and a second full-length album, Backyard Boogie, three months later. His third full-length album, Wash House Ting, was released in November 2016.

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

J Boog | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Constant energy and love fill the stage with a welcoming vibe as J Boog & company perform soulful songs about relationships, sociopolitical topics, and of course, marijuana. They leave the sunny stage with an even sunnier attitude, and leave everyone in the crowd with smiles and a wanting for more. Check out this clip of “Let’s Do It Again” from his 2011 EP, courtesy of The Sober Goat’s Instagram.

Hey @jboogmusic at Riverfront Park, Cocoa FL @showsigoto #showsigoto

A post shared by Richie Williams (@thesobergoat) on

Check out video of J Boog’s full set, thanks to The Sober Goat!

Another set break, another trip to the bar. The house music lowers and Iration walks out on stage. I hit record on my camera back by the sound/audio tent and then make my way to the photo pit for the first three songs. They open with “Hotting Up” from the same titled album released in 2015, appropriately enough for the brutal summertime weather in the air.

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

This is Iration’s first tour with Slightly Stoopid. Their long time friends who have talked about it this for while. Two weeks before the show, I interviewed Iration’s bassist, Adam Taylor (you can listen to the interview HERE). He’s the first one I see once I’m in the pit, holding down the right side of the stage and wearing a sly blissful smile. Sunglasses, beards, and similar serious smiles are also prevalent among the other band members. 

Check out my clip of “Mr. Operator” courtesy of The Sober Goat’s Instagram.

Hey @iration at Riverfront Park, Cocoa, FL @showsigoto #showsigoto

A post shared by Richie Williams (@thesobergoat) on

Song 5 in the set was a new tun, “Fly With Me,” a slower marijuana love song. As they start the song, Micah Pueschel aka The Rainbow Road Warrior (Guitar, Vocals) addresses his fans: “I suggest you light one up to this, Cocoa Beach.” Many in the crowd obliged. During “Back Around” he gets a good chant going of “I feel Good” and “Cocoa Beach” amping up the energy flow from front, back, side to side.

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Did I mention this was a really hot sunny day? During “Falling” the band breaks it down and Micah asks the crowd “Are you ready to finish this thing out?!” They kick the song back in gear for a few seconds and about half of the crowd shows their enthusiasm. They break it down again and Micah replies:

Ok, ok…. 55% of Cocoa Beach is ready to finish this thing out strong. The other 45% is trying to avoid that sun patch over there. That thing’s wicked. I’m gonna ask you again, but I want everyone in this park to bounce. Are you ready to finish this thing out strong?!”

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration finishes their set with a cover of Al Green’s “Here I am (Come and Take Me)” which was also made popular covered by UB40. The next song featured special guest Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid on a cover of The Temptations’ “The Way You Do The Things You Do” which was also made popular covered by UB40. 

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Iration | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Check out video of Iration’s full set, thanks to The Sober Goat!

SETLIST
00:00 Intro – Hotting Up
05:44 Turn Around
10:00 Mr. Operator
15:40 Midnight
21:07 Fly With Me
26:59 Summer Nights
30:57 Reelin
35:37 Back Around
42:30 Falling
48:08 Here I Am (Come and Take Me) – Al Green / UB40 cover
51:24 The Way You Do The Things You Do (ft. Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid) – The Temptations / UB40 cover
54:54 Time Bomb

One last set break and the crowd is filling in as the sun patches fade away into shade and the late arrivals come through the gates. I couldn’t tell you how many Stoopid shows I’ve seen, but it’s probably somewhere in the 30’s. I hit record on my camera and am excited to film these dudes once again. I then make way to the photo pit one last time. I always talk about bands getting the party started at shows, but no one does it better than Stoopid. After a short intro track, they go straight into “Officer” and the entire crowd effortlessly sings along with Miles Doughty:

Let’s get this party started, Until the break of dawn an’, Let’s keep this party movin’, Until there’s no one home an’, Let’s get this party started, Until the break of dawn an’, Let’s keep this party movin’, All you got to do is sing.”

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

I’m a little disappointed to see that the stage is missing a key horn player… one of my favorite saxophone players, the one and only Mr. Karl Denson. Guess he had other thangs goin’ on. No worries though, because the legendary Don Carlos of Black Uhuru was in the house. Don frequently plays with Stoopid and is practically a permanent special guest, but he wasn’t on last year’s summer tour so it was cool to see him back this year.

I want to point out that Miles shirt was Jaws shirt, only it was a Mike Tyson parody of Jaws… or JAWTH. Hahaa! There are amps with Star Wars decals covering the fronts. Also, the sound guys randomly play wookie sounds over the speakers throughout the entire day. Per usual, Miles and Kyle switch guitar and bass throughout the show, and lit up a few doobies for the crowd along the way. They’re so generous!

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Check out my clip of “Come Around” courtesy of The Sober Goat’s Instagram.

Yo @slightlystoopid at Riverfront Park, Cocoa FL #slightlystoopid @showsigoto #showsigoto

A post shared by Richie Williams (@thesobergoat) on

I can’t remember what song it was, but at some point during the middle of the show, Stoopid welcomed members of J Boog on stage for a song. The rest of the show mixed up old their school reggae classics tunes with some new school contemporary jams. Being a drummer, my attention was somewhat focused on the steady beats of Ryan Moran, he’s so good. I always leave a Stoopid show more than satisfied… it’s pretty hard not too. Thank you Slightly Stoopid for continuing a summer tradition and showing Cocoa Beach love every year!

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Slightly Stoopid | Cocoa Riverfront Park, FL | June 25, 2017 | Photo by Richie (The Sober Goat)

Check out video of Stoopid’s set (almost the whole set, thanks technical difficulties!), courtesy of  The Sober Goat!

SETLIST
00:00 Intro
02:10 Officer
07:20 Struggler
10:36 The Fruits
13:10 Don’t Stop
16:00 Don’t Care
19:12 If You Want It
24:00 Baby I Like It Raw
28:00 Till It Gets Wet
32:00 2 AM
*technical difficulties recording*
33:50 Ese Loco
35:54 Bandelero
39:06 Zeplike
40:00 Closer to the Sun
46:46 Train 1
49:28 Come Around (ft. the guitar tech on bass)
ENCORE
54:02 Everything You Need
58:24 ?
1:04:00 Just a Passing Glance ft. Don Carlos
*technical difficulties recording*
We Don’t Wanna Go (not in video)

Slightly Stoopid “Sounds of Summer Tour 2017” w/ Iration, J Boog, & The Movement in Cocoa, FL – Live Review, Photos & Video by Richie Williams (The Sober Goat)

PHOTOS

Please support our friends who support us! Tell them Shows I Go To sends love! 🙂

ON SALE NOW: GORILLAZ First and Only Florida Performance!

Gorillaz Florida Show Announcement

We're Putting On A Festival! SIGT Presents: Ten10 Fest! 10 Bands. 10 Bucks. Saturday, October 7, in Orlando, FL.

Ten 10 Fest Lineup 2017 Lineup With Sponsors NEW 8-24-17

Follow Shows I Go To on Instagram, Snapchat, and Subscribe to our email list for FREE TICKETS to your favorite shows!

Comments

comments

Recommended Posts

WANT FREE TICKETS? SIGN UP HERE!





 
 




Like Our Facebook Page for Updates!

Hey!

We're putting on a festival! ️🎉


Ten 10 Fest Lineup 2017 Lineup With Sponsors NEW 8-24-17